May 30, 2014: Peonies!

Quite a few years ago, back when this was our vacation home , during a summer visit I decided to plant some peony bulbs by the corner of house. Of course, since I wasn’t here long enough, I got no peonies on that visit. The next year, when we arrived at the house for summer vacation, I saw a peony bush with some dead peony blossoms still hanging on. Sadly, I was too late to enjoy the flowers. In subsequent years the same thing happened. We always arrived sometime in June, after school was dismissed for the summer, and that was too late for peonies.

During the renovations on the house which started inside in the summer of 2008 and continued over the next 4 summers, a new roof, new siding, and new decks were completed and the peony bush was trampled by the construction workers doing this work. Upon my arrival in July that year, I saw it’s pitiful condition and I was sure it was history.

Much to my surprise, in early April this year, right where the bush had been, I saw two stalks poke through the soil. At first I had no idea what they were. I’d almost forgotten what was planted there, and besides, I had been certain that the plant had not survived the exterior renovations. As the stalk turned into a bush and then buds started to develop, I was so excited! For the very first time I’d be here to witness it blooming. You have no idea how much I have enjoyed these beautiful blossoms!

peonies 1 peonies 2 peonies 3 peonies 4

This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

