December 2014: Special Holiday Décor Items

I have several items of holiday décor that I truly treasure. I love to decorate with items that carry special significance and meaning.

For example, this framed counted cross stitch which I made many years ago for my mother and inherited upon her death. Whenever I look at it, I remember making it for her and seeing it displayed in her home at Christmas. The clay nativity characters in front of the cross stitch were made by my younger daughter when she was 11 years old. At the time I collected nativity sets. In anticipation of moving to the mountains, I donated most of the sets but this is one that I kept when downsizing.

D12

At one time back in the 80’s and 90’s many people had ceramic Christmas trees like the one below. They’ve kind of passed out of favor now. This one was made as a wedding gift from a dear cousin of my husband. So it’s very special to us. (Maybe I should just call it “vintage” and it’ll suddenly be more in demand.)

SD 2

My husband’s family took a six-week summer vacation trip to Europe when he was 12 years old. During the trip they purchased a nativity that was carved out of wood from the Black Forest (Germany). This nativity was on display in his parents’ home every year.

Several years after our marriage, his mother asked me what I wanted her to leave me in her will. I told her I would love to have the nativity. Now I think of my sweet mother-in-law each Christmas when we set up her beautiful nativity.

SD 3

SD 4

Do you have any special holiday decor items that hold special meaning? Do you have any holiday collections?

This entry was posted in Decor, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 2014: Special Holiday Décor Items

  1. Pingback: Looking Back: Christmas Tables Past |

Leave a Reply

