December 2014: Holiday Crafting and Baking

G1I know that the holidays and all the associated activities like shopping, wrapping, decorating, cooking, and baking can be stressful at times. I have always enjoyed all these holiday activities, but when I was working, trying to fit in time to accomplish all these fun holiday tasks while continuing on with my usual work and family activities was sometimes somewhat stressful. But, now that I am retired from my former career, I can fully engage with the fun of the holiday season. I enjoy holiday crafts and baking, especially when I engage in those activities with my granddaughters.

I’ve always thought it would be fun to build a gingerbread house, but had never tried. So this year I purchased two gingerbread house kits and helped my sweet granddaughters each put one together. As the pictures below clearly show, the girls had fun. So did I.

G2 G3

This year I baked several kinds of cookies: gingerbread men, iced sugar cookies, chocolate-cherry walnut chews, and an amazing chocolate chip cookie from a recipe my husband’s Aunt Bea gave me years ago. 

c1 c2 c3 c4

I think it would be fun to engage in a cookie exchange. Maybe next year I’ll look into organizing one.

What are your favorite cookie recipes? Have you ever participated in a cookie exchange?

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

