September 25, 2015: Touches of Fall

A few days ago a friend shared this post from a south Florida radio station Facebook page. It shows the what the seasons are like in Florida.

Fl seasons

This illustration is so true and those of us who’ve lived in south Florida for a while can relate. Having spent the great majority of my life in south Florida, I now enjoy the change of seasons here in western North Carolina so much.

I imagine that to those who have experienced seasonal changes for a long time, the experience might be taken for granted, but I really get into each season. So far, I can’t really say that I have a favorite season. But, what I most enjoy is observing the changes that gradually occur in the natural environment all around me during the transition from one season to the next.

Those changes prompt me to want to change things inside my home as well. I enjoy decorating to bring in hints of the external changes taking place in nature. When I lived in Florida, I found it hard to get in the mood for fall decorating when the outside weather didn’t look or feel any different in September and October than it did in July. But here in the mountains, when the mornings and evenings become a bit chilly, and the  farmers markets and grocery stores are filled with pumpkins, gourds, and mums, it’s time for me to pull out the bin of fall décor! I enjoy adding touches of fall here and there in the house.

I love the changing seasons, but I don’t like to rush them. It’s a pet peeve of mine to move into the season too early. I’ve been thinking about fall décor for weeks, but I didn’t take out the bin of autumn décor items out until a few days ago. I have been working on adding touches of fall since Monday. Here are the results so far:

FD 1

FD 5

FD 4

 

FD 2

FD 6 FD 7FD 8

FD 9

FD 10

FD 11

FD 12

FD 3

I’ll still be adding a few additional changes inside over the next week or so and I will also be working on the outside of the house a bit. I’ll share those changes soon.

How early do you begin decorating for fall? What are your favorite fall décor items?

This entry was posted in Decor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

