IKEA Chair Upgrade

chair Collage title

I am currently traveling. This project was accomplished two days before we left on our road trip, a quick makeover of my vanity chair. The chair is a BÖRJE from Ikea. The off-white canvas fabric seat cover is removable for washing. I wanted to upgrade the fabric to give the chair a more custom look so I selected a textured check fabric in shades of beige, brown, and pastel blue.

This little project took only about 20 minutes, a 2 ft. x 2 ft. square piece of fabric, a staple gun and screw driver. I removed the seat cushion from the chair using the screwdriver to loosen the screws and angle brackets. Then, after removing the canvas seat cover, I attached the square piece of my chosen fabric using the staple gun. First I turned under the edge of the fabric and stapled it underneath the cushion along the back edge. Next I stretched the fabric taut, trimmed the excess, turned under the edge, and stapled along the front of the cushion. I repeated this stapling process, attaching the fabric along each side, being careful to pull the fabric very taut at the corners at a 45 degree angle and to attach it securely. Once the cushion was completely covered, I re-attached the seat cushion to the chair using the screwdriver.

chair Collage 2 w

 

I plan to paint the vanity table and the chair eventually. However, that probably will not happen for a while. I still haven’t decided what color I want to paint this furniture. In the meantime, I am enjoying this minor upgrade to my vanity area.

 

20151028_124732ew

 

 

This entry was posted in Decor, DIY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

