Dollar Tree Hack: Reindeer Placecards

20151123_081802ewtitle

Even though Thanksgiving is still a few days away, I’m starting to think and plan ahead to Christmas decor. A few weeks ago, I stopped at our local Dollar Tree store and picked up some ornaments from their Christmas ornament selection. I plan to use some of those ornaments as trims for gift wrapping. But the glittery white trees and reindeer that I purchased were for this year’s Christmas table. They compliment the sparkly tablecloth I purchased at an after Christmas sale last  year.

I made napkin rings using the trees, some ribbon, and cardboard paper towel rolls.  You can read about those here. I thought the reindeer would make pretty, whimsical placecards.

Collage w

I removed the hanging loop from the reindeer ornament. Then I made a little oval-shaped hill from the Model Magic. I sprinkled a little white glitter over the surface of of the hill to give it the appearance of glittery snow. Then I pushed the reindeer’s feet into the soft model magic.

20151122_232805ew

I made little nametaga and attached one around each reindeer’s neck. I used a special punch I have that punches a scalloped circle or can punch a scalloped border. I made the white cardstock scalloped circles and borders from shiny gold cardstock. I had both on hand. Then I attached thin gold cord to loop around the reindeer’s neck.

20151123_081815ew

I think they are so sweet. And I am sure that the grandchildren will love them too! This was an easy and inexpensive project and it will add a bit of whimsy to our Christmas table.

Linking up with:

  Dollar Tree Christmas Extravaganza at Debbie Doos

The Scoop at Stonegable

Inspire Me Tuesday at A Stroll Thru Life

Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch

Wow Us Wednesday at Savvy Southern Style

Thrifty Decor Chick

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decor, DIY, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dollar Tree Hack: Reindeer Placecards

  1. Cyndee says:

    I love this idea. And I love reindeer. I’ve out of the loop…never seen Model Magic before. Ha!

    Like

    • carolyn says:

      Model magic is by Crayola. It’s usually found in the children’s craft department. It comes in different colors. Over time it air dries to a lightweight solid.

      Like

  2. So easy, and so adorable! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

