Thanksgiving Table: Take Two

20151126_TitleLast week I did a trial run on my Thanksgiving tablescape. After that trial, I thought I knew what the “final” table would look like. But, as it turned out, a few “tweaks” would be in order. The picture below shows what I had planned, as described in my post earlier this week.

20151119_153619bw

After my tablescape trial and the description in my earlier post, I happened to catch one of the episodes of The Chew. Clinton Kelly demonstrated some options for napkin folds for a Thanksgiving table. I fell in love with the “turkey” fold and instantly decided to nix the iron bird napkin rings and switch to cylindrical rattan ones that were suited to the turkey fan fold, which, as Clinton indicated was quick and easy.

Collage 1W2Steps to create Clinton’s “Turkey” fan napkin fold:

  1. Spread out the napkin with the “wrong” side up, so the hem is showing.
  2. Fold the bottom edge up to meet the top hemmed edge, but don’t fold the napkin exactly in half. Leave approximately 1 inch of the first layer of the napkin uncovered. In my case, the hem is about 1 inch deep which worked perfectly.
  3. Fold the bottom edge (which is now a folded edge) up, again leaving about 1 inch of the previous layer uncovered. You now have formed a rectangle with a long side that is the original width of the napkin and a short side that is approximately 1/3 of the original width.
  4. Turn the rectangle so that a short side is at the bottom and the long side of the napkin rectangle stretches away from you. Begin with the short side and fold a fan fold using the entire rectangle/napkin.

Collage 2 WHold one end of the fan and insert into a napkin ring. Set the napkin ring down and stretch open the napkin to create the fan. Viola! A turkey napkin!

On Wednesday evening after our dinner, I began to set the table for today’s family Thanksgiving meal. I loved the additional height and interest that the turkey/fan added to my original planned table design. But I felt something was missing or off just a little. I decided to add additional texture. A woven fiber table runner was just the thing to add a layer of texture under the centerpiece and down the whole table. It was the perfect addition! I think this year’s rustic, but elegant table is my all time favorite Thanksgiving table.

20151126_084534ew

20151126_084545ew

Dinner plates are Sicily White by Thomson Pottery purchased at Home Goods a few years ago

Artland amber water goblets are available from a number of locations, for example Amazon (Mine are two different shades of amber, purchased at different times and locations)

Paisley tablecloth and napkins are by Tahari Home, purchased in October at Home Goods

Rattan chargers and napkin rings from World Market

Woven fiber table runner from World Market

Ceramic pilgrim couple salt and pepper shakers are from Publix, purchased in 2000, when I lived in Florida.

Centerpiece is the Landon 5-votive Tray Candleholder by World Market, filled with faux and real mini-pumpkins, gourds, pine cones, faux fall leaves, and excelsior. Read my earlier post about it here.

 

When the grandchildren arrived today, I gave them a craft project. The cute little turkey bodies that they created which we attached to the rattan napkin rings became the perfect touch of whimsy and personalization!

 

20151126_151943ew

“Ama” is what they call me. The eldest granddaughter gave me that name when, as a baby, she tried to say “grandma” and “Ama” is what came out. I loved that name, so I kept it. All the grandchildren since have been introduced to me as “Ama.”

We had a wonderful day with both daughters, their spouses, and the three grandchildren. The youngest sat in a high chair which was pulled up to the corner of the table.  We ate too much, laughed a lot, and were mindful of all that we have to be grateful for. I hope your Thanksgiving was as delightful as ours. God bless you and yours!

Linking up with:

Tablescape Thursday at Between Naps on the Porch

 

 

This entry was posted in Decor, Holidays, Our Blessed Life, Tablescapes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Table: Take Two

  1. Rosie M. says:

    A thoroughly enjoyable post. It was fun listening to your thought process in producing this table. It turned out perfectly! Your paisley linens are to die for! And I love your turkey napkin holders and the “turkey bodies” you attached to them. You really expressed the true meaning of the Thanksgiving holiday. Thank you for sharing this. Rosie @ The Magic Hutch

    Like

Leave a Reply

