Holiday Home Tour

Joyce nativity zoom ew title

This year I needed to keep our holiday decor somewhat simplified. Since Mr. MT Nest and I will be leaving town for a two-month snowbird migration on the Monday after Christmas, I will need to remove the holiday decor right after Christmas. So I concentrated primarily on decorating the main living space and only added small touches in the bedrooms and bathrooms. And I kept in mind the necessity of quick and easy “un-decorating.” A number of decor items were left in the storage bins that hold the holiday decorations throughout the rest of the year. I love holiday decor. I think it makes my home feel warmer and cozier. So I didn’t want to skimp, just simplify. I believe these photos demonstrate how I was able to achieve a festive holiday home without using every single Christmas bauble and tchotchke that we possess.

Some of the angels in my collection are displayed on the top of the buffet as if sitting on a fluffy cloud. “Where angels gather round,  heavenly love and joy abound.”

angels vignette 1ew

Also on the buffet, I displayed a framed cross-stitch that I made many years ago as a gift to my mother. Since Mom’s passing, I display it in my home each year. Sitting in front of the cross-stitch is a Christmas tree candle and a small Mary, Joseph, and baby Jesus figurine made from clay. I purchased this figurine some years ago at the annual Mount Mitchell Craft Fair.

cross stitch ew cross stitch vignette ew

On top of the buffet hutch, I placed two burlap-wrapped faux pine trees and one of a pair of porcelain reindeer. I also moved two lanterns containing battery-operated candles on timers set to come on in the evening from other locations in the house.

china cabinet ew

Tucked away in a corner near the buffet and hutch is a narrow chest of drawers in which I keep linen napkins and my collection of napkin rings. I removed the pottery pieces and one of the lanterns that were here through the fall and added a vignette of a couple of whimsical snowbirds and three Christmas trees and a bit of snow on top of the chest for the holidays.

snowbirds and trees 2 ew

The stairs provide a backdrop for our large television in our great room. This wall is the focal point of the room. I added a garland to the stair banister and tied it on with burlap ribbon bows.

stair garland 2 ecw

Last fall I purchased some star garlands from Decor Steals which I added to the evergreen garland on the stairs. The stars add a bit of sparkle to the garland. as does the sparkle on the glittery red pattern of the ribbon on the burlap bows.

stair garland zoom ew

tv cabinet ew

On  the television credenza, three tall candle holders hold faux birch wrapped candles which I embellished with ribbon and greenery. The second of the porcelain reindeer pair rests next to the candles on one side of the television. More pine greenery and red berries are contained in a tall wooden vase.

Candle Collage wOn the chairs at each end of the television credenza, I placed a small pillow with a sparkly champagne pillow cover embellished with white snowflake embroidery and appliques.

snowflake pillow 1ew

snowflake pillow 22ew

Our beloved nativity sits on a small table on the wall separating the great room and the kitchen. This nativity was purchased by my in-laws in Germany in 1964 while on a family vacation. It was passed on to Mr. MT Nest and me upon their deaths. We love the craftsmanship and the history behind this beautiful set and look forward to displaying it every year.

nativity Collage w

This is the view of the great room and dining area as seen from the landing on the second floor outside our bedroom. Our lit Christmas tree is seen to the right of the sofa. Holiday pillow covers in Kincaid plaid (made from Pottery Barn napkins) and red chenille (Pier 1) are on the sofa. On the love seat is a pillow cover from Pottery Barn with cardinals and the red pillow on the rocking chair with Santa’s sleigh embroidery was made from a Pottery Barn placemat. The second view shows the dining table with a Kincaid plaid tablecloth from Pottery Barn.

From above 3ewFrom above 1ew

On the bar between the kitchen and the dining room, I filled a tall apothecary jar with pine cones and red faux berries and sprayed it with faux snow creating a sort of ombre effect. A jade plant and some paperwhites in white ceramic pots and a small container of candy complete the vignette.

paperwhites ew

This sweet angel hangs on the support post at this end of the bar year round, but she’s perfect for Christmas, too.

paperwhite angel ew

At the opposite end of the bar, I created a hot chocolate station in a wooden basket. I also included a red and white floral arrangement in a white Ikea pitcher.

hot chocolate Collage

The centerpiece on the dining room table was described here.

centerpiece ew

There is a half wall separating the dining room from the building extension with the back door that leads out to the small rear deck.  In the extension is a custom-built library cabinet that holds our alcoholic beverages and glassware. The half wall and the cabinet provide horizontal surfaces which I used to spread some holiday cheer to this area of the house.

This vignette sits atop the wine cabinet. The basket contains seasonal napkins, placemats, and seasonal paper dessert plates. The red metal tray holds a set of hand-painted wine glasses that were a gift received when we lived in Florida. I added a small ironstone pitcher filled with faux evergreen sprigs and candy canes. A sweet felt and fabric Santa stands guard.

wine cabinet vignette ew

An adorable “Santa Elf” purchased last fall from a local artist stands on the half wall next to a metal Christmas tree. The side of the wine cabinet is visible behind him.

 

santa elf ew

At the top of the stairs on the landing is a bookcase that originally belonged to Mr. MT Nest’s parents. This Christmas it hosts two silly chenille snow people. An open-weave basket holding a collection of colorful Christmas ornaments sits nearby.

Snowmen bookcase ew

In the master bedroom, tiny touches give the room a bit of a holiday feel. I replaced the fall bedding with new white matelassé duvet and shams (Pottery Barn) and replaced one throw pillow with a holiday pillow.

bed zoom ew

bed pillow ew

Another wintery pillow (snowflakes) was added to a chair in the bedroom.

mbr chair pillows zoom ew

On one night stand I added a ceramic nativity that  was painted by a favorite aunt, my Aunt Joyce. I like to include a nativity in every room during the holidays. It’s one of the ways that I try to keep the focus on the true meaning of Christmas.

night stand ew

Joyce nativity zoom ew

In another bedroom, the one that holds the grandchildren’s toys, I added a nativity purchased from Hallmark a few years ago. The characters are all made from wood and look have a childlike appearance.

Well, that’s most of the holiday decor for this year. I will make a separate post about how I decorated the Christmas tree.

Do you have a favorite Christmas decor item? What’s its history?

 

Linking up to:

Inspire Me Tuesday at A Stroll thru Life

Wow Us Wednesday at Savvy Southern Style

This entry was posted in Decor, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

