Christmas Tree 2015: Birds, Berries, and Bows

nght tree ew title

I’ve never decorated our Christmas tree with a theme. We’ve always had a traditional tree with ornaments collected over the years. We have lots of ornaments. Most of them are kept in their original boxes. They are wrapped in tissue and then enclosed in their individual boxes. This makes unpacking them a bit tedious, and repacking them becomes an  even bigger, more tedious job. In the past to repack, I removed all the ornaments from the tree and removed their hanger hooks. Then they were spread out, usually on the rug. I wrapped each ornament in tissue and then found the appropriate box.  Finally, I packed all the individual boxes into a larger bin for storage. This process took FOREVER! or at least it seemed to take forever.

This year, as I’ve mentioned in earlier posts, my time to “un-decorate” and pack away our Christmas decorations is quite limited. We leave on a 2 month  trip on the 28th. So, to avoid the dreaded job of repacking Christmas ornaments, I simplified the tree decorations.

I covered the tree with white lights. According to everything I read, you need 100 lights for every foot of height of your tree. I used more! Our tree is not against a wall so I needed to make sure it looked good from all sides. So we have 1200 lights on an 8 foot tree. Putting the lights was the most time-consuming part of decorating the tree. I hate to see the wires so when I put the lights on the tree, I do my best to hide them. It’s a slow process.

After the lights were on the tree, I added 3 dozen small red cardinals clipped to tree branches.

20151226_110143ew

Then I added about 40 pine cones that I had prepared by attaching a twine loop with hot glue.

night tree pine cone zoom ew

Next I added picks of red berries and red bows made with red burlap ribbon.

20151226_110151ew

night tree zoom2 ew

The pine cones and bows were prepared ahead of time, one evening while I was watching television. Finally I added 4-inch wide embroidered burlap ribbon that I picked up from Cracker Barrel on sale. The ribbon has cardinals and pine embroidered down the center. I draped pieces of the ribbon diagonally on the tree and attached the ends to the tree using floral wire.

20151226_110219ew

 

Done!

Christmas tree 2w

nght tree ew

These tree decorations should be much easier and quicker to un-decorate and store. And Mr. MT Nest called this year’s tree a work of art! I had a theme of red birds going. Perhaps more themed trees are in my future.

night tree birds zoom ew

Linking up to:

Inspire Me Tuesday at A Stroll thru Life

Wow Us Wednesday at Savvy Southern Style

This entry was posted in Decor, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Tree 2015: Birds, Berries, and Bows

  1. Pingback: Woodland Christmas Tablescape |

Leave a Reply

