Gift Wrapping 2015

Gift 3 title

This year I chose to wrap gifts with a kraft paper look. I chose two primary papers for the adults’ gifts. One was a printed kraft paper with trees and red birds. This was a perfect fit with my cardinals theme this year, so I fell in love with it immediately when I laid eyes on it at Hobby Lobby.

The other paper, also from Hobby Lobby, was a lighter beige color and had a kind of burlap textured appearance with white snowflakes.

Gift 2

I like to wrap each child’s gifts in a different paper. This makes it easy for the children to spot their presents and differentiate them from the other grandchildren’s gifts. This year, I found three additional papers at Target to use for the gifts for my three grandchildren, kraft paper printed with red cardinals for the eldest, a beige-ish background paper with comical Santas for the middle child, and a kraft paper with Christmas trains on it for the two year old.

 

Gift 8

Red cardinal paper with a bow of red on red wired ribbon with a glittered plaid pattern.  This gift was in an unusual shaped box so I wrapped the bottom of the box a pleated and folded the top over like a bag, stapled it shut and added the large bow and tag.

 

Gift 9

‘This is an identical gift for the other granddaughter, so it is wrapped the same way except using the Santa paper and snowflake printed burlap ribbon.

Gift 10This gift was for the two year old who is completely enamored of things that move like trucks, cars, planes, and trains. This printed kraft paper picks up on his love of all modes of transportation.  The paper is a busy  pattern, so I kept the trimmings simple. I just wrapped some twine haphazardly around the package a few times and hot glued a Dollar Tree “Merry Christmas” ornament to the twine.

 

Gift 11I purchased some interesting tags, mostly at Michaels…chalkboard stars and Christmas trees, corrugated cardboard stars, circles with cute Christmas cutouts, and brown cardstock hearts. I used coupons for some of these and picked some up in the Dollar section. I made other tags for some packages using a few sheets of textured scrapbook paper I picked up at Michaels.  I bought some glittery ornaments at the Dollar Tree and also used these as package embellishments. I used red. green, and burlap ribbons and twine purchased on sale this year along with some that was leftover from last year.

Gift 5I used red ribbon with white dots on this package. Instead of a bow, I added a homemade paper snowflake and tag to this package. The snowflake repeats the snowflake that is in the paper design.

Gift 7Red and green plaid wired ribbon, a green gift tag punched from a sheet of scrapbook paper and a red Dollar Tree star ornament embellish this package.

Gift 6

A gift for a four-legged friend includes a homemade dog bone gift tag and a chew embellishment. Snowflakes on the burlap wired ribbon mimic those in the wrapping paper pattern.

Gift 4Because I was running out of the cardinal paper for the eldest grandchild’s gifts, I wrapped this one in plain brown kraft paper and used a scrap of the cardinal paper and some striped ribbon to create a decorative band around the package. A homemade tag mimics the cardinals in the paper and takes the place of a bow.

Gift 1 e

A Christmas tree was cut from green textured scrapbook paper then hot-glued to brown textured cardstock. I cut around the green tree to create a border from the  brown paper. The tag, once again takes the place of a bow. I used two bands of narrow green checked ribbon that I had on hand.

Note: The Hobby Lobby rolls of paper were huge. After wrapping all the adult gifts, I still have lots of the paper left. A great bargain!

 

Linking up to:

Inspire Me Tuesday at A Stroll thru Life

Wow Us Wednesday at Savvy Southern Style

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, DIY, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

