Special Holiday Memories

Special Memories Title

For me, the best thing about the holiday season is the opportunity to share special moments with friends and loved ones. This year, I was greatly blessed to spend a wonderful afternoon making a memory with my elder daughter and her two sweet daughters. We spent several hours making gingerbread houses at a special event held at the Inn at Biltmore on the Biltmore Estate. Mr. M.T. Nest babysat for our youngest grandchild while we four ladies enjoyed a “girls only” afternoon and a fun creative activity.

houses edited w

A week before Christmas, I also had the two granddaughters over for a cookie baking and decorating session.  We tried a few cookie ideas from Pinterest and, while they might not look quite as perfect as the Pinterest models, the girls had fun and came away with some cute cookies. I mixed up batches of sugar cookie and gingerbread cookie dough the day before and provided the girls with rolling pins, cookie cutters, and lots of decorating options. I purchased cans of Wilton cookie icing which came with decorating tips. The canned icing is much easier for the girls to handle than a decorating bag. I also had an assortment of little candies that the girls could choose from.  Here are some of their results:

PicMonkey Collage1bw!

We had so much fun making the cookies and the time we spent together baking and decorating was priceless! I think sometimes we have a tendency to be so involved in trying to make everything perfect for the holidays, that we neglect planning time to enjoy being  with those we love. I know that I have at times been guilty of this neglect. This year, I was determined to include special activities with my loved ones in my holiday plans. Not all of the activities I’d hoped to be able to enjoy together worked out, but with this as a goal, we did make some very special memories.

What special activities and time with your loved ones did you include in your holiday planning this year?

Linking up with:

The Scoop at Stonegable

Inspire Me Tuesday at A Stroll thru Life

Wow Us Wednesday at Savvy Southern Style

 

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Holidays, In the Kitchen, Our Blessed Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

