Easy Spring Centerpiece

DSC_0242ecwtitle

After removing our St. Patrick’s Day decor and centerpiece this past weekend, I wanted to create a centerpiece that would work for Easter but one that could also be used beyond the holiday. And I wanted to come up with something that was quick and easy to put together.

 

DSC_0244ecrw

I picked up a pot of miniature pansies at Walmart and transplanted them into a wide, white ceramic dish. I added moss around the plants and placed a porcelain chocolate bunny in the center. After Easter I can remove the bunny.

My original plan was to use the dish with the pansies just this way. But I decided that I wanted to add a few additional elements. So I pulled out a square tray made from reclaimed wood to corral everything and a little bird nest and a chubby little bird to add to the “springy” feel. The dish garden needed to be elevated so the elements in the arrangement would have varied heights for interest.

 DSC_0247e2cw

Since I don’t have a white cake pedestal to match the white container, it occurred to me that I could set the dish on top of a small white bowl turned upside down.

DSC_0249ecw

I used a few dots of hot glue to secure the dish garden on top of the bowl.

 

DSC_0265ecw

When the elevated dish garden was placed in the tray, I added some natural excelsior and green moss, and then placed the nest with three small speckled egg, and the cute chubby bird around the base of the dish garden.

DSC_0266ecw

Lately I find that I am craving texture in all aspects of decor. This centerpiece has lots of texture. It works well with a simple table-settting for an Easter meal or a spring dinner. I prefer a centerpiece to be low enough not to interfere with diners’ line of sight and conversation and this one meets that criteria also.

Other than the pansies, which cost $7, I used items that were already on hand. Putting the entire arrangement together took about a half hour, including replanting the pansies and digging out the other elements.

I’ll be back on Wednesday to share the recipe for a yummy dessert.  I hope you’ll stop back by.

Linking up with:

Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch

The Scoop at Stonegable

Tablescape Thursday

Inspiration Gallery at The Chronicles of Home

Foodie Friday and Everything Else at Rattlebridge Farm

 

This entry was posted in Floral Arrangements, Centerpieces, Holidays, Tablescapes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

