DIY Moss Balls

20160408_101542ecw title

Hurray! This is my 100th blogpost on Our MT Nest. I’m still learning about blogging, but thought I would take note of this milestone.

Happy Friday! Do you have some fun planned for your weekend? Our area is expecting…wait for it…SNOW tonight. But, Mr. MT Nest and I are leaving town (hopefully our flight out isn’t cancelled) for a trip to Florida, so we’ll miss the snow. We’re heading down for my high school class reunion. While we’re there we’ll see my brother and a few friends in our old neighborhood.

I am sharing a quick little project from earlier this week. It was really simple and took very little time to complete. I made my own decorative moss balls. Quick and super easy. A little messy, but oh so simple.

Collage 1I picked up some styrofoam balls in two sizes at Walmart. I had glue and moss shreds already on hand. The moss shreds were purchased when I made the initial wreaths for our baby girl’s wedding last May. The glue should be a kind that works with styrofoam. Check the label.

Collage 2w

Using an old paint brush, I coated about 2/3 of each ball with glue. Then I rolled the gluey part in the moss shreds.

Collage 3w

I held the styrofoam ball on a toothpick to coat the remaining surface with glue and then rolled that portion in the moss shreds as well. The completely coated balls were laid out to dry on a sheet of waxed paper.  I left them drying for 24 hours. That’s it. Anyone can do this project.

20160408_101546ecwThe moss balls are now part of my springy decor touches.  Some are filing a favorite pottery bowl, mixed with some rattan woven balls and an antique green glass ball. Several of the smaller ones are filling a vase holding faux hydrangeas. (The hydrangeas are another purchase from our February Magnolia Market trip.)

20160408_101445ecwI love how they add texture and green to our spring home. I am really feeling green this spring.

Have a great weekend and try to stay warm if you’re in the path of the nasty weather coming. Spring seems to be starting fitfully this year. In a few weeks I am sure it will have taken hold once and for all, but in the meantime, we can still make our homes feel a little more springy. I’ll be back next week. See you then.

Signature 2

Linking up with:

Simple and Sweet Friday at Rooted in Thyme

Foodie Friday and Everything Else

Inspiration Gallery at The Chronicles of Home

Dishing It, Digging It at New House, New Home

Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch

The Scoop at Stonegable

Inspire Me Tuesday at A Stroll Thru Life

Wow Us Wednesday at Savvy Southern Style

Create It Thursday at Lambert’s Lately

The DIY Collective

Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decor, DIY, Floral Arrangements, Centerpieces. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DIY Moss Balls

  1. Mossy balls are such a lovely touch for spring and summer. I love how it looks and the texture.

    Thank you for sharing with Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop.

    Olivia
    Reinvented Collection

    Like

  2. Lori says:

    This is great! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Little Spring Birds |

  4. With moss balls being so pricey this is right up my alley. Loving the ones you made, they turned out great.
    Thanks so much for sharing this at the Dishing It & Digging It Link Party.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolyn says:

      Thank you for hosting the link party. I am so thrilled that my Spring Pillow cover post was featured this week! Thank you and the entire Dishing It & Digging It team.

      Like

Leave a Reply

