Tomatoes, Tomatoes, Yummy Tomatoes!

DSC_0047ew titleTomāto or Tomäto.

No matter how you pronounce it, I LOVE tomatoes. I think that I inherited my love of tomatoes from my father. He loved tomatoes too. He grew lots of tomatoes in his garden every year. And all through tomato season, there was a plate of fresh sliced tomatoes on the table for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. He grew lots and lots of tomatoes. My mother canned lots and lots of them. And Daddy gave lots of tomatoes away to the neighbors, especially the widows at their rural church in Virginia. So I guess the love of tomatoes is sort of in my DNA.

DSC_0082ecwLast weekend, I brought home a bunch of assorted tomatoes from the Farmers Market and we’ve been enjoying them in a variety of ways all week.

 

DSC_0187ec2wOn Monday, I canned 5 quarts of Roma tomatoes and made some bruschetta with a few more. The canned tomatoes will be used for sauces, soups, and stews throughout the portion of the year when fresh tomatoes are not in season. We enjoyed the bruschetta with a glass of wine while sitting on our deck before dinner that evening. The easy recipe I used for the bruschetta is found here.

Bruschetta Collage w

My favorite August lunch is a tomato sandwich. I’ve been enjoying delicious tomato sandwiches all week as well.

Sandwich Collage w

A couple of weeks ago, I came across a Southern Living feature entitled 30 Foods Only Southerners Eat. Reviewing the list, I found that I’ve eaten most of the 30 foods, but there was one dish, tomato pie, that, despite having lived my entire life in the South, I had never tried. I decided that it was time for me to remedy that culinary deficiency.

DSC_0216eccl2w

After conducting some research to find a recipe, I settled on this one  from Southern Living to try. The crust has crumbled bacon  in it (YUM!) I made a few minor changes to the recipe. Instead of the dill and chives that the recipe calls for, I used basil and thyme. Instead of the green onion, I used a shallot. Otherwise I followed the recipe.

When I make it again, I will cut the amount of salt in half (the cheeses are salty already) and possibly reduce or leave out the apple cider vinegar entirely (it really doesn’t need the extra tang because the delicious tomatoes are sufficiently acidic.)

The ingredients for the crust: flour, butter, bacon, sour cream

DSC_0195ecw

Add 2 1/4 cups of flour to the bowl of the mixer. Use a pastry cutter/blender to cut in 1 cup of very cold butter which has been cut into small cubes.

DSC_0197ecw

The flour/butter mixture should resemble peas.

DSC_0198ew

Add 8 strips of cooked, crumbled bacon to the flour/butter mixture.

DSC_0199ecw

Add 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup at a time. Use the mixer to incorporate, mixing each addition just until blended. On a heavily floured surface, knead the dough several times. Add additional flour as necessary. Roll out the dough and place  the crust in a pie pan. Trim off the excess dough. Chill at least 30 minutes before filling and baking.

The ingredients for the filling: tomatoes, cheese, herbs, an egg, mayonnaise, a shallot, vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper

DSC_0206ecw

Slice 2 3/4 pounds of heirloom tomatoes approximately 1/4 inch thick. Remove the seeds and place the tomato slices on paper towels. Sprinkle 1 teaspoon of salt on the tomatoes. Let them sit for approximately 30 minutes. Meanwhile, in a mixing bowl, combine 1 1/2 cups freshly shredded extra-sharp cheddar cheese. 1/2 cup freshly shredded Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1 large beaten egg, 2 tablespooons of chopped basil (recipe calls for dill), 1 tablespoon fresh thyme (recipe calls for chives), 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley, 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar, 1 chopped shallot (recipe calls for a green onion), 2 teaspoons sugar, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper.

DSC_0209ecw

Sprinkle 1 1/2 tablespoons yellow corn meal in the bottom of the chilled pie crust.

DSC_0210ecclw

Spread 1/2 cup of the cheese mixture in the bottom of the piecrust.

DSC_0211ecw

Pat the tomatoes dry with paper towels  to absorb excess moisture. Arrange a layer of sliced tomatoes in the piecrust covering the cheese mixture.

DSC_0212ecw

Repeat layers of 1/2 cup cheese mixture and tomatoes until all the cheese mixture has been used. Arrange one final layer of tomatoes on top.

DSC_0214ecw

Bake in a 425 degree oven for 40-45 minutes. Cover the edges of the crust with aluminum foil during the last 20 minutes of baking to prevent burning. Remove from the oven and let the pie sit for 1-2 hours before slicing/serving.

DSC_0216eccl2w

Oh my! This pie is crazy good! The cheese and tomatoes are soooo flavorful. And I really love the crust. I definitely plan to use this crust in other dishes, like perhaps a quiche sometime in the future. Here’s the link to the recipe again.

So now, I have experienced this Southern dish.

DSC_0219ec4w

Are you a fan of tomatoes? What’s your favorite way to eat fresh tomatoes? Have you tried tomato pie?

Have a great weekend!

Signature 2This post is shared at:

Inspiration Gallery

Foodie Friday and Everything Else

Dishing It & Digging It

Metamorphosis Monday

Make It Pretty Monday

The Scoop

Inspire Me Tuesday

Celebrate Your Story

Wow Us Wednesday

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

This entry was posted in Favorite Things, In the Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tomatoes, Tomatoes, Yummy Tomatoes!

  1. Snap says:

    I love tomato pie … can’t have enough recipes for tomato pie, either! Ha! Have a great week.

    Like

  2. I guess we both have tomatoes on our minds this week Carolyn! Your pie looks delicious, especially with that bacon crust!
    Jenna

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a beautiful post on tomatoes! I have grown tomatoes successfully for years, but this year was a basic failure…can’t figure it out! The pie looks delicious! Pam @ Everyday Living

    Like

    • carolyn says:

      Thank you so much for your comment. I have never actually grown my own tomatoes. We don’t have much level land and our sun exposure is not optimal for vegetable gardens. Each year since my father passed away, I have tried to find tomatoes from the markets that are as flavorful as his always were. I think people must think I am weird as I lift and sniff various tomato varieties in search of those with that familiar aroma.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

