10 Minute Makeover: Flower Vase

title 2Happy Monday! I hope your weekend was filled with pleasure and relaxation. Ours was lovely despite quite a bit of rain in our area. Somehow we lucked out and the rain did not interfere with the timing of the outdoor activities.

On my regular Saturday visit to the local Farmers Market, I picked up some pretty flowers. I started arranging them in a cylindrical glass vase, but I wasn’t thrilled with the look. After checking my stash in search of an alternative container, I decided that it was time to complete a simple container makeover hack that I’ve been thinking about for a while. This was such a quick, inexpensive, and easy project and completely changed the look of my clear glass cylinder vase. In just 10 minutes my vase went from this ordinary cylinder

before w

to this tall textured bamboo one.

vase after ecw

Here’s how  I made the change. I started with a clear glass cylindrical vase and a bamboo slatted placemat from the dollar store.

before Collage

I removed the flowers from the vase and wrapped the placemat around it. The overlap was about 5 inches.

wrap ec2 w

I considered cutting off most of the overlap but ultimately I decided to leave it in case, at some point, I want to pull this apart and use the placemat on another container with a different diameter. I used a binder clip at the top to hold the desired circumference.

binder clip ecw

Then I slipped the placemat off of the vase and attached a second binder clip at the bottom. It was pretty easy to make the top and bottom circumferences equal because I used the bamboo slats to line up the edge of the placemat correctly.

clips ecw

At this point I had a placemat “tube” with the same circumference as the glass vase and the excess (overlap) of the placemat was like a flap hanging from the tube. I put small dots of hot glue along the edge of the placemat flap and then wrapped it over the tube and sealed it down.

hot glue ecw

When the hot glue cooled, the binder clips were removed and I slid the bamboo placemat tube over the glass vase.

after vase ecw

Ready for flowers!

vase after ecw

And perfect for a season-transitioning vignette on our little table.

vignette3 ecw

Signature 2

This post is shared at:

Metamorphosis Monday

Make It Pretty Monday

The Scoop

Inspire Me Tuesday

Celebrate Your Story

Wow Us Wednesday

Foodie Friday & Everything Else

The DIY Collection

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decor, DIY, Floral Arrangements, Centerpieces. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

