Our Fall Home

dsc_0065ecw-titleHello to all my readers. I’ve been absent from this page for nearly two months. Nothing has been wrong. I just needed to take a bit of a break from blogging. We’ve also been rather busy lately. But I am back now with this post sharing our simple fall decor which includes lots of pumpkins as well as the customary fall leaves and other natural elements.

To transition from summer to fall, the shades of blue that were prominent accents in my summer home have yielded to greens, and shades of rust. gold, and orange, with just a few touches of blue. I kept the seasonal decor simple to create a cozy but not cluttered feeling.

dsc_0037ecwThis vignette sits atop the china cabinet. I fell in love with these faux fall leaves when I saw them at Hobby Lobby and here I am using just three stems in a tall clear glass cylinder vase. The basket is a recent purchase. A few weeks ago we took a bike ride with friends following the Creeper Trail in Virginia. The bike shop where we rented bikes sold t-shirts. other souvenirs. and a few hand-made baskets from a local basket weaver. I fell in love with this basket and thought it would look lovely filled with fall pumpkins, gourds, and pine cones.

dsc_0038ewSitting next to the basket is a small carved wood pumpkin and a lantern which holds a candle and some more fall leaves.

dsc_0049ecwThe china cabinet also holds my velvet pumpkin patch. I have always wanted to try making some velvet pumpkins, so last year I saved pumpkin stems and dried them. Earlier this fall I made several sizes of velvet pumpkins and a couple fabric ones using a rust-colored fabric printed with gold script and fall leaves.

dsc_0003ecw

dsc_0030ec2wdsc_0031ewdsc_0032ec2wI recently paired down the antique cut glass pieces stored in the china cabinet, packing away some of the pieces so that the remaining  pieces would stand out . These pieces were part of the my mother-in-law’s vast cut glass collection. The china cabinet also holds my grandmother’s silver tea and coffee set and an old china pitcher in the Autumn Leaves pattern. I added a few baby pumpkins and some fall leaves as seasonal accents.

dsc_0035ecw

I also added a fabric pumpkin and a blue velvet pumpkin sitting in a cut glass relish dish.

dsc_0036ecwOn the small console table in our great room, the fall decor is very simple…just some tall pillar candles and a wooden bowl filled with baby pumpkins from a local farm stand.

dsc_0008ecw

dsc_0050ecwOf course, one of the easiest seasonal touches is to change accent pillows.

dsc_0016ecwThe Willow Paisley and Terracota Ikat Jacquard (no longer available) pillow covers which replaced the summer blue covers are from Pottery Barn. When I purchased them, they were 24 inches square. My pillows are 20 inches square, so I ripped out the seams and re-created them to make them the correct size.

dsc_0019ew The pillow in the photo below is from Pier 1. I love the colorful leaves on the trees and the woven jute edging…perfect for fall.

dsc_0025ecwThe Neutral Applique Pumpkin pillow shown below on the love seat is also from Pottery Barn.

dsc_0075ecwMy latest version of placemat pillow covers are two burlap pumpkin printed pillow covers on small lumbar accent pillows which sit on the old chairs that  flank the television console. I purchased two of these placemats on closeout last year at the end of the fall season. A couple of weeks ago, I turned the placemats into pillow covers. My tutorial for turning a placemat into a pillow cover is HERE.

dsc_0026ecw

A few more fabric and velvet pumpkins sit at the base of a tall pillar candle holder on one side of the television.

dsc_0029ecw

Faux pumpkins fill a tall apothecary jar sitting in the alcove between the dining room and our bar cabinet.

dsc_0053ecwOn the dining room table, dried hydrangea blossoms from Sunshine’s backyard fill the tray of the Landon 5-Votive Candle Holder. I replaced the votive cups that came with the tray with bowl-shaped glass votives and added rusty brown candles.

dsc_0054ew

The centerpiece sits on the Watercolor Pumpkin Table Runner from Pottery Barn.

dsc_0056ec2w dsc_0056ew dsc_0057ewIn a corner of the great room, sitting on a small chest of drawers, I put together a simple vignette using natural elements. A salt-glazed pottery vessel holds preserved cotton boll stems and some seed pods. A lantern is filled with mini-pumpkins and faux leaves and a leaf-shaped dish holds two pine cones.

dsc_0070ecw

dsc_0067ecw

That’s the fall decor in our great room and dining room. I’ll be sharing the fall touches in other areas of our home in a future post.

Signature 2This post is shared at:

Wow Us Wednesday!

The Scoop

Inspire Me Tuesday

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

This entry was posted in Decor, DIY, Floral Arrangements, Centerpieces, Seasonal Decor, Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Fall Home

  1. Linda miller says:

    Everything looks so warm and cozy with the perfect fall touches you added throughout your home. I was wondering why you had not posted for awhile. Glad you were busy enjoying life!

    Like

    • carolyn says:

      Thank you, Linda. Fall is such a busy time. There are numerous fall festivals. We’ve had guests, grandchildren’s activities, and projects around here. I just couldn’t seem to find the extra time to shoot and edit photos of the things I’ve been doing.

      Like

  2. tsanta516 says:

    Love all the decor, especially the placemat pillows

    Like

Leave a Reply

