Summer Master Bedroom Updates

Sometimes I surprise myself when it comes to home decor. I start out with a plan, but something takes me in a completely different direction. My recent master bedroom refresh took such a surprising turn.

I like to refresh our master bedroom seasonally by changing the duvet cover, pillow shams, and throw pillows. For several years, I have used the same blue and green paisley print “summer” duvet cover from Pottery Barn.

This summer, I was ready for a different look and when I saw the Jamie Stripe Linen Duvet in flax, I loved its serene, casual look.

When my PB order arrived, I loved the bedding just as much in our bedroom as in the catalog. But none of my throw pillow covers seemed just right. So on my next trip into Asheville, I went to JoAnn to browse the home decor fabrics and then to Home Goods. I purchased  1/2 yard of each of two fabrics with the intention of making pillow covers, this abstract floral print and the coordinating solid. I was drawn to them because of the blue, which evoked such a peaceful, calm feeling.

Next, my fabric purchase in hand, I went into Home Goods to shop for table linens. No matter what I am shopping for in Home Goods, I always do the once over of every part of the store, and when I reached the aisle of throw pillows, my eyes went right to this floral print pillow with adorable coral-colored birds. Instant pillow love struck! And the blue flowers on the pillow were almost an exact color match to the fabrics I had just purchased, so I imagined they’d work well together. But when I laid them on the bed, the look was so muted that it was almost boring. Except for the little pops of coral color in the print. I kept thinking that I needed to pick up and accentuate that coral color. I decided that a small coral pillow that would sit in front of the bird pillow might be just the right thing to lift the look of the entire arrangement.

With that plan in mind, a few days later, on my next trip back into the city, I returned to JoAnn in search of coral fabric. I purchased these three fabrics as possibilities for the coral accent pillow.

Ultimately, instead of following through with my original plan to use the blue abstract floral fabric and a coral accent, I changed design direction completely and went with two smaller coral pillows behind the bird pillow. I am very pleased with the resulting look.

With the large expanse of the neutral duvet, the brighter coral helps to highlight my lovely bird pillow. This bright color is a bit of a departure for me, but I am glad that I decided to go with the coral. I know I’ll find an opportunity to use the blue floral somewhere else soon. But for now, I am l.o.v.i.n.g this combination.

What are your summer color preferences? Do you like bright colors or a more neutral, serene color palette?

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

This entry was posted in Decor, Seasonal Decor, Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Master Bedroom Updates

  1. tsanta516 says:

    So pretty and summery!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda says:

    Very pretty. Sometimes the best laid plans….well, you know! I have a very neutral PB duvet in our MBR. I love that I can accessorize it with different throw pillows and totally change the look. Enjoy your new summer digs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolyn says:

      I tend to do that too, go with neutrals, and even my “accent” colors tend to be muted. That’s why this coral is such a surprise for me. Generally, if it isn;t a neutral, then it’s green and/or blue in my house. I am thinking i may keep using this duvet into the fall and just change the throw pillows, too. We’ll see.

      Like

Leave a Reply

