In the Craft Room: Quick Velvet Pumpkin Make-over

20181006_095624ecw title

This is the first of a couple of posts about what I’ve been working on in the craft room recently. This year’s fall décor focuses on softer colors, shades of blue and green, white, and ivory. It seems like velvet pumpkins are a big trend in fall decorating. I made some of my own velvet pumpkins and used them in last year’s fall decorating, but this year I wanted softer colors, so I looked for velvet fabric in shades of blue. I found several shades I liked, but couldn’t find the pale blue I had in my mind’s eye. Then I came across these cute pumpkin place card holders at Pier 1 and they are the perfect color of pale blue/gray velvet that I hadn’t been able to find in fabric stores. Even better they were on clearance sale! So I picked up the three that my store had in stock and took them home for an easy little make-over.

20181006_093811ecw

The first think I did was to clip off the wire coils using wire cutters and remove the faux stems and leaves.

20181006_094043ecw

Then I replaced the stems with real pumpkin stems that I had saved from last fall’s pumpkins. A little hot glue was all it took to attach a much prettier and more interesting stem to each velvet pumpkin.

20181006_095344ecw

I love the way the final products look!

20181006_095713ecw

MY TIP: Replacing the stems on all sorts of faux pumpkins makes such an amazing difference in how they look and it’s so easy! In my next post I’ll share what else I’ve been working on in the craft room and how I’m using these little pumpkins in this year’s softer fall décor.

Signature 2

This post is being shared at:

Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch

The Scoop at Stonegable

Make It Pretty Monday @ The Dedicated House

 

 

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decor, DIY, Seasonal Decor. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to In the Craft Room: Quick Velvet Pumpkin Make-over

  1. Linda Miller says:

    What a great find and the way you customized them is so pretty. I was looking for a teal velvet pumpkin a few years ago to no avail. I finally decided to make my own and it is gracing my mantle again this year.

    Like

Leave a comment