DIY Spring Wreath

DSC_0496ecw title

We rarely use our actual front door which is the entry nearest to the driveway. Instead we generally enter through the French doors on the large front deck. The front deck is the area that we decorate seasonally. I like to hang seasonal wreaths on the two French doors.  But this spring, the doors have been bare because I couldn’t decide on a spring wreath. That was until a few days ago when I was browsing the Frontgate catalog that came in the mail. I saw an absolutely beautiful wreath, the Westerley Village Wreath, full of faux spring flowers.

150429_mainFrontgate Westerley Village Wreath

It was PERFECT! …that is except for the price of $299. Oh my goodness!!! And I would need two of them. 😦

It was time to DIY my own version based on the Frontgate inspiration wreath. Yesterday I had to go into Asheville for an appointment, so while I was in town, I went to the A.C. Moore craft store to pick up some silk flowers and greenery. I already had a couple of grapevine wreaths on hand that I’d purchased in March for $3 each. I also had florist’s wire.

DSC_0497ew

As soon as I arrived home with the supplies, I went to work on the wreaths. First, using wire cutters, I cut the floral stems apart into the individual flowers and sprigs of greenery. Then I attached the sprigs of green leaves to the grapevine wreaths using the floral wire. Next I added the sprigs of forsythia. And then each of the other varieties of flowers were added one at a time. The dogwood blossoms were the added after all the other smaller blooms. Finally, I filled in with lacy baby’s breath sprigs. I spent about about an hour and a half making the two wreaths.

DSC_0492ecw

They’re not quite as full or elegant as the Frontgate version, but I am happy with the look, and mine cost only about $20 each. The colors are similar and they have forsythia and dogwood blossoms in common with the more expensive one.  Those are two of my favorite spring blooms.

Collage w

DSC_0485ecclw

We don’t have a covered porch. There’s a small overhang, that protects the French doors a bit, so when it rains water doesn’t run down the wall onto the doors. But it doesn’t provide as much protection as a porch would. So any wreaths that I place on these doors will be subject to some weather. If we have a heavy rain, I can pull the wreaths to the inside of the doora. (They’re hung using a Command Hook affixed to the inside of each French door on the wood near the top of the door.)

DSC_0496ecw

Because they will be subject to sun and weather, obviously I don’t want to hang expensive wreaths on the doors. My DIY versions should make it through the spring and into the summer without deteriorating too much. At the end of the season, if they aren’t in good enough shape to be used again, that will be OK, because they aren’t a huge investment. I’ll just pull off the flowers and recycle the grapevine wreaths. My fall wreaths were still in good shape after a couple of months on the doors. Maybe these will fair well. too. We’ll see.

Thanks for stopping by to see my DIY Spring Wreaths. Do you decorate your entry for the different seasons? What does your spring entry decor look like this year?

Signature 2

This post is being shared at:

Wow Us Wednesday

 Create It Thursday

Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop

The Inspiration Gallery

Foodie Friday and Everything Else

Simple and Sweet Friday

Dishing It & Digging It

Metamorphosis Monday

The Scoop

Inspire Me Tuesday

Home Stories A to Z Tips and Tutorials

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decor, DIY, Floral Arrangements, Centerpieces. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DIY Spring Wreath

  1. Pingback: DIY Spring Wreaths – Take Two |

  2. Lori says:

    Gorgeous Wreath!

    Like

  3. Marigene says:

    ♥♥♥ your wreath, great job.

    Like

  4. Carolyn, your wreath is so pretty – love the florals you incorporated into it. Pinning to share!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment